Religion or Gospel

There’s a video making the rounds of a young man saying that he isn’t part of a religion, he just loves Jesus.

And that vid is prompting a lot of debate – is Christianity a religion or not?

I’ll be honest, I have no interest in that debate. But within the shots back and forth, I do find a nugget or two to hold on to.

It did prompt the people over at Resurgence to remember that Tim Keller tackled a similar topic a while ago in his book GOSPEL IN LIFE: GRACE CHANGES EVERYTHING. 

And they reprint some of his thoughts.

His take was more contrasting a life when coming from a “religion” mindset, versus a “gospel” mindset.

Such as:

RELIGION: I obey, therefore I’m accepted.

THE GOSPEL: I’m accepted, therefore I obey.

RELIGION: Motivation is based on fear and insecurity.

THE GOSPEL: Motivation is based on grateful joy.

A part that struck me (convicted me, in religospeak) was a conclusion of the Gospel life being:

I have no inner need to win arguments.

Hmmm, I have work to do.

Or work I have to let get done to me. I mean…

Ah, you know what I mean.

Just my thoughts,

Sean

Leave a Reply

