Christology of Who: The Parting of Ways Part Three

A look at a few of the spiritual themes in Doctor Who, episode “The Parting of Ways” by Russell T. Davies.

SPOILER ALERT:  I will be giving away the end of the episode.

Episode bits pulled from Who Transcripts.

For Part One, go here.

For Part Two, go here.

Okay, here is where I give away the ending.

In order to save the Doctor and defeat the Daleks, Rose absorbs the Heart of the Tardis.

This is the stuff that powers the space-time machine – but it is a whole lot more.

The Heart is a living force; it gives the gift of understanding languages, it prompts and prods the Doctor in where he should go and, at times, what he should do.

And as we learned in Boomtown, it has the power to make people born again.

In other words, the Heart of the Tardis is very much akin to the Holy Spirit.

Once Rose has absorbed the Heart, she is all powerful – able to destroy by speaking a word:

EMPEROR DALEK
You cannot hurt me. I am immortal.

ROSE
You are tiny. I can see the whole of time and space – every single atom of your existence, and I divide them.

And with a word, restore life:

ROSE
(hushed, blissful)
How can I let go of this? I bring life…

INT. FLOOR 500, CORRIDOR

Jack suddenly takes a huge intake of breath as his eyes snap open…

As I say, akin to the Holy Spirit, who gives the gift of languages (Acts 2:4) and helps guide us (Luke 12:12).  The Spirit can take life (Acts 5) and give life (John 3).

Humans can take in the Holy Spirit (Acts 2) and the Spirit definitely can work through us.

But…

Rose, having tasted the power to eliminate the Daleks with a thought, does not want to let go. She wants to be the arbiter of life and death, of creation and power.

THE DOCTOR
Rose, you’ve done it. Now stop. Just let go.

ROSE
(hushed, blissful)
How can I let go of this? I bring life…

INT. FLOOR 500, CORRIDOR

Jack suddenly takes a huge intake of breath as his eyes snap open…

INT. FLOOR 500

THE DOCTOR
(terrified)
But this is wrong! You can’t control life and death!

ROSE
(looks at him again)
But I can. The sun and the moon… the day and night.
(voice trembles)
But why do they hurt…?

THE DOCTOR
(desperately)
The power’s gonna kill you and it’s my fault.

Alas, Rose is meant to be a conduit of the Heart of Tardis – not the controller, and clutching to the power begins to destroy her from the inside out.

ROSE
(scared)
My head…

THE DOCTOR
Come here.

ROSE
… it’s killing me…

THE DOCTOR
(taking her hands)
I think you need a Doctor.

We are meant to be conduits of the Spirit; we are meant to be hands and feet of the Gospel.

But be careful not to fall into the trap of power that both the Emperor and Rose did:

We are not G-d.

Just my thoughts,

Sean

Next up:  Christmas Invasion (and finally – the David Tennant years!)

Leave a Reply

