And the Four Winds We Know Blow Away

He remembers the first time he met her,

He remembers the first words she said…

I’ve been thinking a lot about this song lately.

It is a corny song – but then again, my favorite Carpenters song is “Goofus,” so I’m not afraid of corny. Hold on, I just admitted I have a favorite Carpenters song. Yeah, corn is okay.

There was a stash of song books in the piano bench when I was a kid; I taught myself a lot of songs from that group, plucking out notes and guessing at tempos.

Old oldies like “Five Foot Two” and “Hey Look Me Over”; and newer oldies like “Sounds of Silence” and “Send in the Clowns.”

(Did you know that the MASH theme song had lyrics? I did. Songbook stash.)

“Daisy a Day” caught my eye, and quickly become a self taught favorite.  I don’t recall ever hearing it on the radio or a record – but then again, I don’t recall whether I had breakfast this morning, so there is that.

I’ll give you a daisy a day, dear

I’ll give you a daisy a day

I’ll love you until…

Of course in retrospect, it makes sense that I would be drawn to that song. It is about hope and joy and loss and melancholy, all wrapped up together.

A love song of tears.

Suits me.

Sure, we all think we want love that is all mbop and baby baby and bubblegum.

But we really long for love that is deep enough to include heart ache.

As a kid they would take me for candy

And I’d love to go tagging along…

This was one of my favorite swinging songs.

For those who don’t think of swings and singing, let me explain:

You get on the swing, you pump up to a steady rhythm (every song has its own rhythm, height and heart rate); then you sing.

Great for working the stomach muscles.

It was a song shared with my sister, Michelle. We would walk to the park in the evening (you don’t swing sing in the daytime – it is meant for night, when the park is empty save for the ghosts of children); I’d tell stories and bad jokes, and sing.

I sang for Patty too – I was her walking radio before walkmans existed; she had the right to change the channel at any time. But “Daisy a Day” was Michelle’s.

I sang it at her wedding; her floral theme was daisies.

Nice.

Not my singing, but her remembrance of the song, our walks, and her finding someone worthy of a daisy a day.

Now he walks all alone in the evening

And he stops by that old candy store

And somehow I believe he’s believing

That he’s holding her hand like before

I sang it for my wife, before I asked her to be mine.

The first time we danced under the stars, she pointed out that there was no music. She was silly and uninformed then – there is always music. Just need ears to hear.

That first time it was “Blue Moon.” Daisy came later – much later.

When the river is running deep later.

“Blue Moon” is a song of discovery; “Daisy a Day” is a song of long yearned for revelation.

For he feels all her love walking with him,

And he laughs at the things she might say

I am in a season of death and dying.

Part of being alive, I suppose, is to go through such seasons – shiva, hospital goodbyes, the dreaded long distance call.

In fact, I was scheduled to sing this song for another love, but Death kindly stopped that appointment.

Part of the beautiful sorrow of the song is the realization that Death does not end some things –

painful joys,

the echoes of life,

the hard endurance of love.

That’s what hope is, isn’t it?

The tearful gratitude of a deep echo; a life whose touch leaves a wondrous wound.

For he feels all her love walking with him,

And he laughs at the things she might say

Then the old man, he walks to the hilltop

And he gives her a daisy a day.

Just my thoughts,

Sean

4 responses to “And the Four Winds We Know Blow Away”

  1. the someone worthy of a daisy a day says :

    Thanks for the memory, thanks for the song post, thanks for singing at our wedding, thanks for the memory, and thanks for the shout-out.

  2. Lauri says :

    This just wrecked me. In a good way. And you and I don’t share the daisy song, but we do share the memory of a songbook stash. I still remember turning the pages of one of those songbooks, finding a song called “Suicide Is Painless”, picking out the notes one by one on grandma’s organ, and thinking – “Hey! This is the MASH theme!” (In hindsight, I also find it hilarious that grandma bought those songbooks…for her organ.)

  3. Sarah says :

    “– there is always music.”

    True story.

Leave a Reply

