Feature Film Announcement

I am very excited.

I think, maybe, possibly, there’s a pretty good chance that a script I wrote might be made into a low budget, independent feature film.

And what do I mean by “maybe, possibly?” Well, I was in Hollywood for too long. What I mean is, we have a producer with a solid track record, the funding has been secured, shoot dates have been set, and the producer is in talks with a topnotch director. I even have a contract for the rights. I have signed it; the producers haven’t yet, but say it is on the way.

And I can’t quite bring myself to say it is real, not quite yet. Why? Because as you know, screenwriters are a superstitious and cowardly lot. (Wait, that’s what Batman says about criminals. Allow me to amend.)

Screenwriters are a superstitious lot. As are directors, actors, crew, and caterers. We’ve seen time after time deals that are sure-fire fall apart at the last second.

My friend Dan had a script with a great comedic idea. It was about a guy who was constantly complaining about how bad God was running the universe, who then is hired to temp for the Creator while God went on vacation. Isn’t that a funny idea – a normal guy forced to step in and run the universe as a lesson from the Almighty?

He found a producer, and was in the last stages of finalizing the movie deal when Bruce Almighty was announced with Jim Carrey attached. And bye-bye temping film.

That’s our world, the business we are in. Nothing is certain. Remember how uncertain the country felt about employment and investments in 2008? That’s us entertainment folk all the time.

So, I am going to chronicle my adventures in the screen trade here, fully optimistic about how great this project is going to be. But I will hold off buying the champagne until it’s a wee bit more real.

Just my thoughts,

Sean

4 responses to “Feature Film Announcement”

  1. Becky Henchman says :

    Sean- wher is the button to subscribe to your blog? And, oh yeah, CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!

  2. Kitty Bucholtz says :

    LOL! I so get that! Happy almost-film-making! 😀

  3. Mark says :

    Excellent news! Congrats! Woohoo!!!

  4. filmcomposercatherine says :

    This is great! I am dying to see your work on the big screen. Look forward to hearing more as this develops……

Leave a Reply

