Where to Workout: Health Advice from an Avowed Couch Potato (Marathon T-16 Weeks)

One of the questions I get all the time is, “Should I go to a gym to workout?”

Okay, maybe I don’t get that question as much as, “Hey, have you seen Jim?” But the point is, there are options of where to work out, and I feel that you need my advice. Here are the options:

1) Join a gym.

Are you kidding? Going to a gym is paying someone to torture you, putting trainers in the same category as dentists, IRS agents and college professors.

Think about this rationally: for one month’s gym membership, you could buy two family size bags of Doritos, three gallons of chocolate chip mint ice cream, three packs of Twizzlers, a Costco size bag of M&M’s, two pepperoni pizzas, six liters of Pepsi, and a small box of Junior Mints (if you don’t buy them at a movie theater – if you buy them at a movie theater, then all you can afford is the Junior Mints).

And what do you get instead of all that? A room full of heavy things and a guy yelling at you that you’re using the equipment wrong. No different than going to the reference section of the library and trying to watch a DVD on the microfiche reader.

(For my younger readers who don’t know what I’m talking about: a DVD is the thing that used to carry movies before streaming.)

So a waste of money.

2) Workout at home.

Are you kidding? You don’t know what you’re doing, and without professional guidance, you might hurt yourself.

The only upside is that you can then sue the landlord; but I own my house, and the last time I tried to get money out of me, I just laughed at myself.

So, what is the best approach to working out?

The only smart choice is to stay on your couch and think about working out. Come on, people – those two family size bags of Doritos aren’t going to eat themselves.

jmt,

Sean

Hey, want to support a great cause while following my workout advice? CLICK HERE.

Leave a Reply

